2019 Aphra Behn Festival

In its third year, the 2019 festival will consisted of three plays written and directed by promising female artists. The festival is named after Aphra Behn, the British playwright, poet, translator and fiction writer from the Restoration era. As one of the first English women to earn her living by her writing, Aphra Behn broke cultural barriers and served as a literary role model for later generations of women authors.

The Festival includes the following new plays:

Burden of Proof by Delaney Piggins, directed by Kristen Strom
Performance ensemble: Maya Kelch, Samantha Auch, Sophie Murk

A play about three women on a road trip from their University to their hometown to testify as witnesses in the sexual assault case against their high school English teacher. The action of the play takes place in the car on the six hour journey home, in the courtroom the next day, and on a stage which becomes a dream-state platform for the three women to express their responses to the legal system, as well as their experiences with trauma, relationships, and oppression.

Intervals by JM Chambers, directed by Jeanitta Perkins
Performance ensemble: Chris Ware, Madelyn Boyne, Vicky Chen

A series of monologues exploring the lives of three individuals who have been profoundly affected by homelessness. Intervals examines the everyday challenges and the emotional and mental tolls of homelessness and the attempts to escape it.

V, by e.k. Doolin, directed by Lana Dvorak
Performance ensemble: Kelly Howe, Morgan Maul-Smith, Ryan Lawson-Maeske

A 10-minute Yoga Play. Veronica is disillusioned with genius, so she tries yoga. Unfortunately, so do a couple of geniuses.

The production stage manager for the Aphra Behn Artist Festival was Summer Baer. Lighting design by Elizabeth Lund and costumes by Liz Henning. Photography by Joey Rumpell and graphic design by Dottie Quick.

SATE’s Aphra Behn Emerging Artists’ Festival is made possible by funding from Missouri Arts Council, Steve Nelson Memorial Playwright’s Fund, and the Regional Arts Commission.

%d bloggers like this: